Search content

Which was the first Elder Scrolls game you played?

Monday, 27 June 2011

Level up! Yeah!

This might not be a Pokémon game, but levelling is still quite intriguing. Naturally we are all up to date on the whole "there will be perks" and the attribute,as well as skill thingies.
If not, I suggest that you read my articles on them. Just click the keyword in the bar to your right.

But for short: Every level, you get to pick a perk. There are only 3 attributes: Health, Magicka and Stamina. There are 18 skills, of which 16 are known and confirmed. All in all, there are 50 levels. You can level beyond that, but you won't get to pick a perk, and a only get a minor attribute bonus*1.

*1 (I think, but I am not sure)

If you played Oblivion, you are probably among the dreadful horde of players, that are hating on the levelling system. Back in good ol' 2006, everything levelled along with us. Suddenly a couple of measly bandits were wearing hardcore glass armor, solely because we rose a couple of levels. It's like that we, in spite of our efforts, never really became anymore powerful than to begin with, and that is crap.

Fortunately, Bethesda can take a hint. For Skyrim, they have adopted the same system, used in Fallout 3. The so-called "level lock." It works like this: Apart from a few 'fixed' places, dungeons and areas you enter, will "lock" to the level you are in when you first enter it. So if you visit cave A when in level 7, there will still be level 7 appropriate monsters when you return, 20 levels later.

A lot of concern for this system has been expressed, but not to worry. First of all, you can see that it worked great in Fallout 3. I personally didn't even notice, let alone know about it, before I read about it whilst finding info on Skyrim.

There are 150 dungeons, at least, in Skyrim. So fear not that all of your re-visits will be ruined. Also, it is important to note that the "areas" are not the same as the 9 regions in Skyrim. They are not marked, but indicated by the developers. Ergo, we don't know how many there are or where they are.

When that system is paired with radiant story, which sends you to new places all the time, you will constantly be finding new scenery as well as challenges, and when you come back to where you started, you will feel like a new man. Or woman, which I've noticed a disturbing amount of guys choose to play as.

So how do we level up? You all remember the major and minor skills from Oblivion? Where you picked 7 major skills and when you increase them enough, you level up? Well, that has been axed! No more! Fight the power! Viva la Revolution!!! ... Erhm, as I was saying: You no longer pick any major skills. Every skill contributes to your level progression, whenever they increase. The higher the skill level, the more the progress.

If you want a little boost, you can visit the doom stones, as they were called in Oblivion. Some of them corresponds to a specific skill, so when you 'use' it, that skill will level faster for a fixed period of time. I'm not sure if they're still called doomstones, but hey... Who cares?

Okay, I kinda do. But we'll see in time.

They are called "Guardian Stones."

No comments:

Post a Comment